Russell Teibert
Bob Frid/Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Canada men's national team name preliminary roster for 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup

Vancouver Whitecaps FC confirmed today that goalkeeper Simon Thomas and midfielder Russell Teibert have been named to the Canada’s men’s national team 35-man preliminary roster for the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup taking place from July 7 to 28 in the United States.

Both Thomas and Teibert are graduates of the Whitecaps FC Residency program. Joining them on the preliminary roster are three fellow Residency graduates in Adam Straith, Randy Edwini-Bonsu and Kyle Porter, as well as former Whitecaps FC men’s team striker Marcus Haber.

Canada will have to trim its roster to 23 players before entering the tournament.

The team will take part in a 10-day training camp in Oxnard, California ahead of the tournament.

Canada will kick off the Gold Cup on July 7 against Martinique in Pasadena, California; will then travel to Seattle, Washington for a July 11 fixture against Mexico; and will then close-out the group stage with a match against Panama in Denver, Colorado on July 14.

The top two teams from each group; as well as the two highest-seeded third-place finishers will advance to the knockout stages.

Canada won the Gold Cup in 2000 and has since succeeded in making it to the tournament semi-finals on two other occasions (2002, 2007); and made it to the quarter-finals in 2009. 

All of Canada's matches at the tournament will be broadcast on Sportsnet. CanadaSoccerTV will also be on-site at all venues providing additional coverage.


GK- Haidar Al-Shaïbani | FRA / Nîmes Olympique
GK- Milan Borjan | TUR / Sivasspor
GK- Tomer Chencinski | unattached
GK- Lars Hirschfeld | NOR / Vålerenga Fotball
GK- Simon Thomas | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC*
D- Nana Attakora | USA / San Jose Earthquakes 
D- Marcel de Jong | GER / FC Augsburg
D- David Edgar | ENG / Burnley FC
D- André Hainault | unattached
D- Doneil Henry | CAN / Toronto FC
D- Ashtone Morgan | CAN / Toronto FC
D- Adam Straith | GER / FC Saarbrücken*
D/M- Nik Ledgerwood | SWE / Hammarby Fotboll
M- Fraser Aird | SCO / Rangers FC
M- Keven Aleman | ESP / Real Valladolid
M- Kyle Bekker | CAN / Toronto FC
M- Julian de Guzman | unattached
M- Daniel Haber | unattached
M- Atiba Hutchinson | unattached
M- Will Johnson | USA / Portland Timbers
M- Jonathan Osorio | CAN / Toronto FC
M- Pedro Pacheco | POR / unattached
M- Samuel Piette | GER / Fortuna Düsseldorf
M/F- Dwayne De Rosario | USA / D.C. United
M/F- Issey Nakajima-Farran | CYP / Alki Larnaca
M/F - Russell Teibert | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
F- Lucas Cavallini | URU / Club Nacional
F- Stefan Cebara | SVN / Nogometni Klub Celje
F- Randy Edwini-Bonsu | unattached* 
F- Marcus Haber | ENG / Stevenage FC
F- Simeon Jackson | unattached
F- Frank Jonke | FIN / FF Jaro
F- Kyle Porter | USA / D.C. United*
F- Tosaint Ricketts | NOR / Sandnes Ulf

*Whitecaps FC Residency graduate