Alphonso celebration

Alphonso Davies among youngest Champions League-winning starters ever

Alphonso Davies is not only the first ever player from the Vancouver Whitecaps FC BMO Academy System and Canadian men’s national team to win the UEFA Champions League, but also one of the youngest ever starters to do so.
He joins an elite list. Unofficially, Davies is the ninth youngest starting player ever to win the UEFA Champions League.
The following players were younger when they started and won the UEFA Champions League final:
  1. António Simões (Portugal) – Benfica (1962) – 18y, 4m, 18d
  2. Brian Kidd (England) – Manchester United (1968) – 19y, 0m, 0d
  3. Iker Casillas (Spain) – Real Madrid (2000) – 19y, 0m, 4d
  4. Clarence Seedorf (Netherlands) – Ajax (1995) – 19y, 1m, 21d
  5. Carlos Alberto (Brazil) – FC Porto (2004) – 19y, 5m, 15d
  6. Edward Linskens (Netherlands) – PSV Eindhoven (1988) – 19y, 6m, 19d
  7. Johan Neeskens (Netherlands) – Ajax (1971) – 19y, 8m, 18d
  8. Gianni Rivera (Italy) – AC Milan (1963) – 19y, 9m, 4d
  9. Alphonso Davies (Canada) – Bayern Munich (2020) – 19y, 9m, 21d
  10. Gianfranco Bredin (Italy) – Internazionale (1965) – 19y, 10m, 3d