‘Caps claw back once again to earn a 2-2 road draw at FC Dallas

FRISCO, TX – Vancouver Whitecaps FC never say die.

For a second consecutive match the 'Caps came back from two goals down to earn a 2-2 draw, this time against FC Dallas at Toyota Stadium on Wednesday evening.

All the scoring happened late in the match as the first goal came after 50 minutes of play. Jesús Ferreira tapped in his fifth of the year in the 55th minute and just four minutes later, Ryan Hollingshead knocked a deflected shot past goalkeeper Zac MacMath.

But the ‘Caps would get their revenge, first in the 81st minute from Yordy Reyna, who got his second goal in two matches. Lucas Venuto would bring the match to a draw in added time with a long strike for his third of the season.

Head coach Marc Dos Santos made two changes to his lineup with players still away on international duty and a long two weeks ahead of the ‘Caps. Scott Sutter came in for Jake Nerwinski, and Brendan McDonough got his MLS debut in the starting XI as right centre back in a similar 5-3-2/3-5-2 formation that was used in the first match against FC Dallas last month.

An active first half had plenty of opportunities for both the ‘Caps and the Toros. Fredy Montero showed the most threat to Dallas goalkeeper Jesse González with two big chances in the first 22 minutes, both being set up by Reyna.

Dallas showed their striking power as well, with the most dangerous chance in the 23rd minute on a corner that was headed towards the net and cleared off the line calmly by Jon Erice. MacMath stood strong and composed against the five shots on target to keep the first half scoreless.

Montero opened up the second half with yet another close chance but it would be the Toros who scored first. In the 55th minute, Michael Barrios got a long run on the ball, finding himself in behind the ‘Caps defence before he was able to connect with Ferreira in the box for the opener. Hollingshead soon followed up to bring the score to 2-0.

The ‘Caps continued pushing in the heat of Dallas. The first goal started on a pointed pass by Erice and a short give from Venuto to Reyna, who finished off the play with his quick footwork to stall the Dallas defenders and sail the ball into the top-far corner to bring the game within one.

It would be right to the bitter end when Venuto took a long strike with space to find the back of the net, with the help of Andy Rose who made a quick touch to keep the ‘Caps in possession.

With one last corner for Dallas, the ‘Caps cleared it away safely to leave Toyota Stadium with another point under their belt.

Whitecaps FC head straight to Seattle to match up against Cascadia rivals Seattle Sounders FC on the road at CenturyLink Field this Saturday, June 29. Kickoff is at 7 p.m. PT live on TSN1 and TSN 1410 Radio. The ‘Caps then travel to visit LAFC at Banc of California Stadium next Saturday, July 6.


WFC Man of the Match: Yordy Reyna
Referee: Silviu Petrescu
Attendance: 11,911

Scoring Summary
55’ – DAL – Jesús Ferreira (Michael Barrios, Brandon Servania)
59’ – DAL – Ryan Hollingshead (Brandon Servania)
81’ – VAN – Yordy Reyna (Lucas Venuto, Jon Erice)
90’+4’ – VAN – Lucas Venuto (Andy Rose)

Possession: VAN 49.7% – DAL 50.3%
Shots: VAN 12 – DAL 26
Shots on Goal: VAN 5 – DAL 9
Saves: VAN 6 – DAL 3
Fouls: VAN 6 – DAL 9
Offsides: VAN 1 – DAL 1
Corners: VAN 4 – DAL 7
Duels won: VAN 39 – DAL 47
Tackles won: VAN 5 – DAL 22

41’ – VAN– Andy Rose
44’ – DAL – Reto Ziegler
45’+3’ – DAL – Matt Hedges  
85’ – DAL – Edwin Cerrillo
89’ – VAN – Brett Levis
90’+4’ – VAN – Lucas Venuto
90’+7’ – VAN – Ali Adnan
Vancouver Whitecaps FC
18.Zac MacMath; 23.Scott Sutter (28.Jake Nerwinski 75’), 26.Brendan McDonough (7. Lucas Venuto 65’), 15.Andy Rose, 22.Érik Godoy, 53.Ali Adnan; 8.Felipe Martins (46.Brett Levis 75’), 6.Jon Erice ©, 4.Inbeom Hwang; 12.Fredy Montero, 29.Yordy Reyna

Substitutes not used
39.Sean Melvin, 50.Theo Bair, 55.Michael Baldisimo, 94.Victor “PC” Giro

FC Dallas
1.Jesse González; 4.Bressan, 24.Matt Hedges, 3.Reto Ziegler ©, 12.Ryan Hollingshead; 33.Edwin Cerrillo, 18.Brandon Servania, 21.Michael Barrios (11.Santiago Mosquera 76’), 19.Paxton Pomykal (15.Jacori Hayes 90’ +1’), 14.Dominique Badji; 27. Jesús Ferreira

Substitutes not used
20.Jimmy Maurer, 10. Pablo Aránguiz, 16.Richardo Pepi, 25.Callum Montgomery, 29.Bryan Reynolds